1st Year Housemanship

Tmr will mark my first year of housemanship exactly. =)

In a glimpse, yesteryear was just like yesterday. Hurdled through 3 worst postings in Taiping, i felt happie that its over. 3 more to go. On top of it, i felt happie too that i am able to make a change to my patient’s life whether back to cradle or grave.

1 year of working, and suffering definitely had made me a changed person.

Maybe becoz of the workload and stress, there’s less time for me be happie, and it seems that life can’t work without stress. And when there’s stress, there’s no time to be happie..Cut it short, i’m just less happie than before. Perhaps becoz of the workline i am dealing with, human is my main subject. I began to understand more about human nature – the ugly side of it. Not becoz i dun wanna look at the pleasant side of it, but it’s really too few to mention.

Within this 1 year, if i ever granted a wish for a change, i would really ask for a change for KKM trained staff nurses which i think currently at stake. Severely at stake. *sigh*

I keep reminding myself always the reason i chose this line whenever hope’s at the bottom feet of mine(most of the time), and it works. N i hope it stil works for maybe the next 30 yrs i am working. I knew there’s still mountains of hurdles, seas of new things for me to learn, waiting for me to discover or rediscover. At the end of the day, it makes me realise how fast our life can be to meet all ends’ day. A wise man once quoted, “Come what may,and the time cruises easily through the busiest time of all” I fully adhere to it =)

About yenwee

There's nothing much i can bout myself, coz i think i've known myself much to the depth that i love myself more than anyone. hehe. Feel free to log into my previous blog which can be linked from here at 'My previous one' under He/She Blogs Too. In addition to those bla bla bla bout myself, i think now i've grown more ripe by age. World today seems to be more of making decision of either good or not that good. I cud felt that i'm nearer to what i want to achieve. Its jus bout few steps away from now before i reached that point..
This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 1st Year Housemanship

  1. iynn512 says:

    hi, i would like to ask, in average one houseman will covers how many patient in hospital taiping? how many houseman per department? is the working environment in hospital taiping conducive? how about the quarters for staff there? how far is it from hospital?

  2. yenwee says:

    Dear iynn512,
    I am sure others might have to, but i am reckoning it wit my 5 minute postings of experience. šŸ˜‰
    Taiping hospital, is a place where no one as a freshie would like to come. Face it – simply becoz it is much less happening in big cities like Klang Valley hospitals, or other bigger cities like Penang, JB, or Ipoh. We have less subspecialty unit compared to those obviously. but stil we are considered as the primary hospitals in Perak.
    Thus, we have not many housemen around in Taiping. I wud say Taiping has been one of the hospitals in Msia where by the state of training may resemble prolly 10-20 yrs back when there’s only one houseman or prolly 2 in each ward esp in busy postings such as medical, unlike other hospitals in Ipoh where simply can get 6-7 housemen in each ward. Having to say this, obviously there are loads of opportunities of hands-on and training which is more than sufficient for a houseman. really. We can perform loads of procedures which prolly other housemen in other hospitals are not doing for example ; we can perform open appendicectomy ourselves skin to skin as a houseman!
    If u don mind of doing hardship, but to learn, U may consider Taiping hospital.

  3. iynn512 says:

    thank you so much for your generous reply. currently iā€™m a final year medical student, and am surveying hospitals for my hsemanship training. i’ve been hearing about loads of housemen and insufficient training, so i’ve been searching for a hosp that can provide me good training and opportunities. and judging from your reply, however it may sounds :P, hosp taiping might be able to offer those, i think.
    just another question, i’m planning not to get a car during hsemanship years, is it possible for me to survive there without a car? how’s the hseman quarters there? how far is it from the hospital?

  4. Ben says:

    Hi Yen Wee.I was browsing through the net when I noticed ur blog with the article surviving one year of HO ship…nice one.btw I think I know u, are u IMU grades? I used to study in IMU bpharm before persuing medicine in one of the local u.

Leave a Reply

