Days in Edinburgh

Well, doing my elective here in Edinburgh, isn’t bout touring around in Scotland(wud hav wish to be so). Though my previous posts were mostly touring here n there, while u guys bac there wud hav to mug for exams, suffering in rural residents of nowhere, or got traveller’s diarrhea after weeks long..I’m here too, to have no hassle-free routine. But well, i will not beg to differ if some may think i’m still better off overall here, simply coz so far i’ve been enjoying my elective here.

My days start early in the morning. Really early..around 4 something 5 am, when Poh Sen stil sleeps soundly beside me, but not always..coz he for sure wil be waken up by me to go to the toilet. haha. But anyway, waking up so early is so not my routine, but i got no  choice becoz i’ve to travel for quite a distance to reach my Hospital which i’m attached here. Yea, was tagged as a rubber tapper by those Glaswegian pharmacy gang.

The Hospital i’m attached to isn’t really in Edinburgh, its in Livingston which kinda distance frm KL to Seremban. And i’ve to board buses to reach there, plus minus some strolling to do, it takes me the fastest 2 and half hours to reach my hospital from place where i’m staying. Reaching there, i usually joined the ward rounds with the consultant and housemen here which starts at 9am. But every Tuesday n Wednesday, there’s teaching which starts at 8.30am. Tat’s even earlier.. =(

Ward rounds usually ends around 10 something 11pm and i will then clerk some of the patients here or spend my time in the library before going for lunch. And carry on with clinics which usually starts at 2pm and ends around 4 something in the evening. Classes, ward rounds, clinics..are most of the slots of my routine in this hospital. And these routines involved all of the staff including medical student. Ppl here emphasize on the involvement of medical student, n they does not take ur opinion lightly even though u r just a medical student. I rmr some of the occasions when i introduced to the doctors, “I’m just a medical student”, n they just paused there before reminding me again of my status here as a medical student. Its really pressuring when it comes to classes and ward rounds especially when i’m the only medical students here so far, n others were FY1-2s,ST1-3s, and consultants. Each questions from them n they wud be staring at me, till i uttered out some answers even though u show the expression taktau sign. They jus can’t understand. But on the other side, i do learn plenty from the discussion.

Its when my clinics ends, i call it a day for me . And again i’ve to travel back to home usually reaching around 6-7 pm, just nice for dinner. By then, i wud be darn exhausted. But then its when only the time when fun begins. haha..cooking, wit PS n KF. N then only to bed around 9 something. Revision usually takes place in the bus or library here.

Overall, i do really enjoy my time here.

About yenwee

There's nothing much i can bout myself, coz i think i've known myself much to the depth that i love myself more than anyone. hehe. Feel free to log into my previous blog which can be linked from here at 'My previous one' under He/She Blogs Too. In addition to those bla bla bla bout myself, i think now i've grown more ripe by age. World today seems to be more of making decision of either good or not that good. I cud felt that i'm nearer to what i want to achieve. Its jus bout few steps away from now before i reached that point..
This entry was posted in Events. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

